Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of the Tenant Advocate

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Councilmember Anita Bonds to Chair Committee on Housing and Community Development

Friday, December 19, 2014

Today, Phil Mendelson, Chairman of the Council of the District of Columbia announced committee assignments and chairmanships for Council Period 21, which will begin on January, 2, 2015.

Councilmember Anita Bonds has been appointed Chairperson of the Committee on Housing and Community Development, which will include oversight over the DC Department of Housing and Community Development, District of Columbia Housing Authority, Housing Finance Agency, Housing Production Trust Fund, and the Rental Housing Commission.

“I’m looking forward to making a positive difference in the District of Columbia, celebrating diversity, moving the city forward, anew and fresh,” stated Councilmember Anita Bonds following the announcement.

Last year, Councilmember Anita Bonds hosted a series of Community Action Summits, which focused on affordable housing. For the past several months, Councilmember Bonds has hosted several housing working groups with tenant association presidents, developers, government officials, affordable housing advocates, ANC representatives, apartment building owners, real estate agents, and providers to create a comprehensive approach to the most important issue facing the District of Columbia today.

In the last council session, Councilmember Anita Bonds authored the Affordable Homeownership Equity Accumulation Amendment Act, the Hardship Green Grant and Rent Stabilization Act, Affordable Dwelling Unit Hardship Waiver to Rent Act, Senior Citizen Real Property Tax Relief Act and co-introduced the Tenant Bill of Rights Act, the Disposition of District Land for Affordable Housing Amendment Act, and the Housing Production Trust Fund Baseline Funding Act to provide greater housing opportunities for all residents of the District of Columbia.

Along with Advisory Neighborhood Commissions, she will also have oversight over the various diverse constituent commissions, including the Advisory Commission on Caribbean Community Affairs, Advisory Committee to the Office of GLBT Affairs, Commission for Women, Commission on African Affairs, Commission on African American Affairs, Commission on Aging, Commission on Asian and Pacific Islander Affairs, Commission on Latino Community Development, Interfaith Council, Office of Asian and Pacific Islander Affairs, Office of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Affairs, Office of Latino Affairs, Office of Veteran Affairs, Office on African Affairs, and Office on Aging.